Zero Net Emissions by 2025

The Other Renewables Forum

Image Credit: CSIRO Solar Thermal Plant Newcastle

On Saturday the 12th August 2017, the Mount Alexander Sustainability Group (MASG) will be presenting ‘The Other Renewables Forum’ at the Castlemaine Town Hall, with a line-up of recognised guests working in both a local and national context.

Hear from experts in the fields of:
Bioenergy, Geothermal, Mini-Hydro, Pumped Hydro, Thermal Solar and Soil Carbon Sequestration.


Click here to download presentations


Andrew Lang, Alan Pears, David Taylor, Professor
Lu Aye, Dr Guillermo Narsilio, David Carre,
David Stratton, Deane Belfield, Chris Corr

$20 General | $5 Members | Students Free

*Afternoon tea included

Location: Castlemaine Town Hall, 25 Lyttleton St, Castlemaine, Victoria

When: Saturday 12 August 2017, 1.30pm – 5.30pm


For more information:
Ph: 03 5470 6978


Presenter Profiles:

Andrew Lang

Andrew Lang is a farmer and farm forester in south-eastern Australia.  He is a vice president of the World Bioenergy Association and the board member representing Australasia-Oceania. He is a Churchill and Gottstein Fellow. His expertise includes small scale forestry harvesting and processing systems, economics of bioenergy and other renewables, straw to energy options, advanced biofuels production, and models of government strategies and policies that are shown to work.


Alan Pears

Alan Pears, AM, is an environmental consultant, and a pioneer of energy efficiency policy in Australia since the late 1970s.[1]

He has been an environmental consultant since 1991, involved in energy/environmental rating and regulation of buildings, green building developments, and efficient appliance development. He is an Adjunct Professor at RMIT University, and writes a regular column for ReNew magazine. Alan Pears was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2009.


David Taylor

David Taylor is a senior geologist with the Geological Survey of Victoria within the Victorian Government.  David has spent 25 years mapping the geology right across the length and breadth of Victoria.  This work recently included the Geothermal Atlas Project which collected dedicated new data from wherever possible across Victoria to allow much better informed estimates of the geothermal energy potential of Victoria.


Professor Lu Aye

Lu Aye is an Associate Professor in the Department of Infrastructure Engineering at The University of Melbourne.

A/Prof. Aye obtained his Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering, a Masters of Engineering Science (Mechanical) and a PhD (Advanced Energy Systems) and Graduate Certificate in University Teaching at the University of Melbourne.

Research interests include:
– Renewable energy
– Biomass gasification
– Energy system simulation and optimisation
– Thermal storage
– Advanced energy systems


Dr Guillermo Narsilio

Dr Guillermo Narsilio is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow (and Senior Lecturer) in the Department of Infrastructure Engineering at The University of Melbourne.

He received his PhD in Geotechnical Engineering (2006) and his Masters in Mathematics (2006) and in Geotechnical Engineering (2003) from Georgia Institute of Technology (USA). He is the first and only Australian to have received the ISSMGE Outstanding Young Geotechnical Engineer Award , an honour given only every 4 years by the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE) among geotechnical engineers and researchers worldwide.


David Carre

David is a principal of Tamar Hydro. Tamar Hydro Pty Ltd is one of the largest manufacturers of mini hydro power plants in the Australasia/Pacific region. Tamar has extensive experience with major project work gained over 40 years specialising in the design, manufacture and service of hydroelectric power generation plants.


David Stratton

David is a Retired Senior Lecturer in Computing Science and Cambridge University engineering graduate. He has been closely involved in the Renewable Newstead project from its inception and has a pervading interest in renewable energy technologies.


Deane Belfield

Deane Belfield, the principal of ECO2Sys (2003-2016), consults and advises on business sustainability, innovation, resource efficiency, renewable energy (bioenergy, biochar, solar) and industrial ecology. ECO2Sys has been very successful in delivering industrial, resource efficiency and renewable energy projects.Deane was national chair of the Society for Sustainability & Environmental Engineering and is a current member of Latrobe University’s Science & Engineering Course Advisory Council.


Chris Corr

Currently part of Working Group investigating pumped Hydro Storage within the disused mine workings under Bendigo. Vice President of the Bendigo Sustainability Group. Chris holds a Bachelor of Engineering and Science, Melbourne University

Chis holds positions as:

  • Project Manager at EcoSuccess
  • Project Manager at North Central Catchment Management Authority



Our sponsors & supporters